Belgium Map

Belgium is a Western European country occupying an area of 30,689 km2 (11,849 sq mi).

As can be observed on the physical map of Belgium there are three main geographical regions to Belgium: the coastal plain to the northwest, the central plateau, and the Ardennes uplands to the southeast. A small area called the Paris Basin is used to refer to the southernmost tip of the country.

The coastal area is a series of sandy beaches and polders, backed by protecting dunes. Inland, up to the Meuse River, the land is generally flat, with numerous canals and dikes protecting the land from the sea. Its crisscrossed by many small tributaries of the Schelde River. Valleys, caves and small gorges can also be found in this area.

East of the Meuse, forested hilly conditions rise to the rugged and flat-topped mountains of the Ardennes Region. The highest point is the Botrange, at 2,276 ft. (694m). A yellow triangle marks the position of this point on the map.

All rivers and streams of Belgium drain into the North Sea except for the Oise River that empties into the English Channel. The Scheldt, Meuse, and Yser are the three major rivers of the country. The country also has several lakes like Lake Genval, Lake Gileppe, Lake Eupen, Lake Robertville, etc.

Belgium (officially, the Kingdom of Belgium) is a federal state divided into three regions. These are Flemish Regions/Flanders, Wallonia/Walloon Region and the Brussels Capital Region. The former two are subdivided into 5 provinces while the latter is remains undivided. The regions are further subdivided into 43 administrative arrondissements and then into municipalities.

With an area of 30,689 sq. km, and a population of 11.5 million residents, Belgium is the 6thmost densely populated nation in Europe and the 22ndmost densely populated country in the world.  Located in the north-central part of the country is, Brussels the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Belgium. It is also the de-facto capital of EU. Brussels is the administrative, financial and economic center of Belgium.

Belgium is a Western European nation. It is geographically positioned both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. Belgium is bordered by 4 countries: by the Netherlands in the north; by Germany in the east; by the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in the southeast and by France in the southwest. It is bounded by the North Sea in the northwest.

Belgium Bordering Countries:The Netherlands,Germany,Luxembourg.

The blank outline map above represents Belgium, a Western European Nation. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for educational purpose like coloring and map-pointing activities.

The above outline map represents Belgium, a Western European Nation. Belgium is one of the most densely populated European countries.

This page was last updated onFebruary 24, 2021

All maps, graphics, flags, photos and original descriptions © 2021